Episode 13: Nomad #1

It’s time to start working through my pile of non-Spider-Man and non-X-Men related Marvel titles. It’s an eclectic mix, comprised largely of #1 issues I bought because I thought #1’s were important because I was a kid and allowed to be dumb with small amounts of money. So on that note I take a look at a harsher and grittier look at Marvel’s America with the man known as Nomad!

Listen to Episode 12: Wolverine # 50.

nomad-1

The man so jaded, he’ll shoot his own logo.

You can subscribe to the Council of Geeks Podcast, home of 90s Comics Retrial on iTunes or on Stitcher.

And now for some choice art samples of the story by Fabian Nicieza with art by S. Clarke Hawbaker.

Scan_Pic0001

Good luck trying to figure out how many fingers are on this guy’s left hand.

Scan_Pic0002

The sunglasses are on… NOW it’s serious.

Scan_Pic0003

“You’re a scruffy looking drifter, staying at the worst hotel in town and carrying around a baby that looks nothing like you… care to dive into my cleavage?”

Scan_Pic0004

I’ll just point out that he’s leaving a crying baby with somebody he doesn’t know while he goes off to break into a building in the middle of the night… while wearing sunglasses.

Finally, a reminder that the podcast theme song is by Erica Driesbach, and you can find more of her work at her website right here.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Episode 13: Nomad #1

  1. I’m pretty sure the Jack Monroe is murdered by the Winter Soldier in one of the first issues of Ed Brubaker’s run on CAPTAIN AMERICA. Take or leave that as commentary on this era of Cap’s legacy characters.

    Great episode as usual. Even though your guests are always fun and insightful, there is an efficiency to your solo reviews that I enjoy. Of course, that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t have me on again in the future. Just sayin’.

    Also, I don’t think I’ve mentioned it but I really like your intros to each episode, with the different tastes of the ’90s. Each time it’s something different but familiar and it’s a nice recurring bit that sets a great tone for the show.

    Like

  2. Frank says:

    Jack Monroe was reintroduced by J.M. DeMatteis & Mike Zeck in one of my earlier and more nostalgic purchases of floppy Captain America comics. I loved his backstory, new super-hero name, and — eh, costume, I guess, sorta. He was updated for the ’90s as a more extreme renegade (Renegade? I half thought the show ripped off the comic, before I became more aware of parallel thinking, the zeitgeist, and your basic pandering.) I bought Nomad (ongoing series) #1, and as a kid who grew up on Neal Adams and the elusive Continuity Comics on the newsstand, I was immediately sold on the gratuitous throwback stylings of Samuel Clarke Hawbaker at about the same time the Image Comics Kool-Aid was developing a bitter aftertaste. I think Hawbaker’s run as interior artist lasted all of about three issues before moving on to his greatest legacy in the industry as the dude who drew the cover for the debut issue of the otherwise worthless bad girl comic Hellina (who got her own action figure and a recent revival, despite her lack of merit as a mere Lady Death clone.) He was still doing Nomad’s covers as well, plus interim interiors by Pat Oliffe and near constant involvement in crossovers (“oh wow, the debut of the evil Gambit doppelgänger from Infinity War!”) were enough to keep me around for over a year and digging in back issue bins for his mini-series and prelude appearance in a Captain America annual.

    By the mid-90s I was becoming militant in my avoidance of Marvel product (being a retailer during the distributor wars rendered that stance permanent,) and was actively looking for excuses to drop any of their books still lingering on my pull list. I realized that despite my best intentions of becoming a Nomad fan, I only really liked those first few issues, and didn’t understand the subversive satire of Fabian Nicieza’s run. Also, said satire wasn’t actually funny, sales chasing interruptions and artist changes meant the book never found a rhythm, and as I poke at fossilized recesses of my memory bank, I’m not sure the series’ parade of infant sidekicks, hot button issues, and trans caricatures wasn’t propagandistic. I’d have to reread those books to see if Nicieza was a lefty smuggling counterculture into corporate Marvel, or if he was a Friend of James Hudnall using a nut job peripheral Cap character to score points on the commie pinko feminazis, and I don’t want to be so bothered. It was a weird book made more so by the early introduction of “manga” influences via Rick Mays, and I didn’t want to be doooowowown! Still, it stung a bit when Brubaker snuffed Jack to set up the return of Bucky Barnes, especially because he highlighted the characters’ failings, which I’d largely overlooked as a dumb kid in an period designed for dumb kids.

    Like

Leave a Reply

