Episode 21: Cable #1

It’s with no small amount of trepidation that I head back into the world of Rob Liefeld’s creation Cable, last encountered when I covered X-Force #1 with Ryan Daly. This time I’m going solo and Liefeld’s not involved. So will this manage to be any better? Um… you do know what decade of comics this show is about right?

Listen to Episode 21: Cable #1.

Cable11

You can subscribe to the Council of Geeks Podcast, home of 90s Comics Retrial on iTunes or on Stitcher.

Finally, a reminder that the podcast theme song is by Erica Driesbach,and you can find more of her work at her website right here.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Episode 21: Cable #1

  1. Frank says:

    I’m happy to say I never bought into Cable. I noticed the militaristic figure and the flashy covers on New Mutants when he came on, but I didn’t read any until my brother bought the issues of X-Tinction Agenda through to the end of the run. I did buy X-Force for two years as part of my coverage of the X-Men line at the time, but it was never a favorite. I bought the two issue Cable mini-series, but the John Romita Jr. art was a big selling point. I thought and still think Deadpool, Domino, Gideon, and Shatterstar were all better characters with more potential. Cable was always obviously The Terminator by way of a G.I. Joe cartoon, he was never very entertaining, and his dumb name was in a lame logo. Despite obviously bring a lift of Cable, I still like Bishop better, and converted a C.O.P.S. figure into an ugly crude custom of Bishop a quarter century ago that I still have in a box somewhere. At least Bishop had a clear reason for traveling back through time beyond something something Apocalypse something clone something ohmyfrggingad a centuries long legacy for Scott Summers?!?

    Cable #1 did a swell job of underlining why it was time for me to stop reading Marvel Comics, but especially X-titles. Two years earlier, I bought X-Force #1 with at least as large a page count and polybagged with a trading card for less than half the price. In 1991, I was still excited by the premise of X-Force, the stories initiated in the last issues of New Mutants, the freshman characters, and the artistic stylings of Robert Liefeld, extremesquire. By 1993, I’d suffered through the wholesale swipe concepts produced by the Image studio system without employing any writers, the cast of second-string artists brought up to scab over the Image exodus, and the creative bankruptcy of event/editorial-driven comics by committee that then and for long afterward defined Marvel (and currently, DC.) I still kinda liked X-Force, mostly for the art of Greg Capullo, but the characters had no more luster.

    I bought Cable #1 out of inertia, and only #1. I think Fabian Nicieza is a capable scripter, but at this point he was massively overextended, taking every lucrative assignment offered to him to bank for his family & future. Given the climate of the times and the ostentatious lifestyles of his contemporaries, I can’t fault him for that. Given the impending collapse, it proved the smart play. In the 23 years since the only time I ever read this, I forgot everything about it but the art. Art Thibert didn’t start out as a Jim Lee clone, but he was one of the better rip-offs of a difficult to replicate style, while still having a cheery Nauck-like cartooniness that undermined the intended EXTREMENESS! He’d have been better suited on a youth-oriented book with a stripped down version of this style, but on Cable, he’s just too… Canadian.

    I needed to be reminded who Garrison Kane was in spite of a recent reread of the Deadpool mini-series and early X-Force issues ahead of the movie coming out. I actually would have been okay if you’d just said Kane or Weapon X, but the Garrison part got me to confuse him with that senator dude who was the child of Mystique and Sabretooth. None of these other future characters rung any bells. I opened the issue up in Marvel Unlimited, and I was still like “What’s a Sin Sear?” I think my copy sold in the discount boxes at my shop for seventy-five cents, while other unsold issues of the series went for $0.20-0.50, so that foil enhancement was totes worth it.

    Like

  2. Why is Nathaniel Richards the star of a book called “Cable”? 😉

    I guess it’s a look favored by characters who are related to classic Marvel heroes with complicated time travel/paradox back stories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

