Episode 16: Pitt #1&2

It’s Image time once more, and I’m bringing back the double bill as we take a look at the first two issues of Dale Keown’s Grey Hulk… I mean Pitt. This is the first example we’ve come across of a the trend of Image characters being clear analogs/rip-offs of comics that the creators were working on prior to joining Image, and it won’t be the last.

Listen to Episode 16: Pitt #1&2.

Pitt1-122-1

You can subscribe to the Council of Geeks Podcast, home of 90s Comics Retrial on iTunes or on Stitcher.

And now for some are samples from artist/creator Dale Keown and scripter Brian Hotton.

Scan_Pic0005

Somehow they couldn’t get Marvel to bite on the biker thug version of Hulk so they took it Image instead.

Scan_Pic0006

“@$$#*!#” What on earth could that mean??? I cannot crack this ingenious code!

Scan_Pic0007

A no-prize for the first person who can explain to me what in the hell just happened to Harras’ face.

Scan_Pic0008

That explosion was pretty targeted when it came to clothing destruction. Also it’s great to see that Harras knows to squat and lift with her legs.

Scan_Pic0009

Pitt didn’t think being sprayed with purple and green silly string was a great way to kick off his surprise party.

Finally, a reminder that the podcast theme song is by Erica Driesbach,and you can find more of her work at her website right here.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Episode 16: Pitt #1&2

  1. I’m pretty sure I have the first issue somewhere, but no recollection of its contents. Is it me or is Keown actively pushing his style towards a MacFarlane cartoonyness in the faces? He looked better with someone else’s inks on Incredible Hulk.

    Another reference, Bobbi Harras is obviously named after editor Bob Harras, one of the names most associated with 90s awfulness, now working at DC and bringing back that aesthetic and mismanagement over at that company.

    Are promos retro too? Nice to hear Flower & Fishnets again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Frank says:

    Yeah, I actually put that one together for Ryan based on scraps he had lying around, but then he went and created a proper promo for The Power of Fishnets.

    I think Bobbi Chase refers to two different editors, Bobbie Chase (who Keown worked with directly) and Bob Harras.

    I was a fan of Dale Keown during his run on Incredible Hulk, just as I was a bunch of Marvel artists who went off to create months worth of solicitations for a new comic company that got me to commit to buying dozens of terrible comics sight unseen that were still landing in my pull box a year later. By the time Pitt came around, I’d learned my lesson and only preordered the premiere issue, knowing that if I liked it, there would be plenty enough stock to buy successive issues off the shelf so long as I hit the shop weekly. It was better than most Image debut issues, so if it had been part of the first wave, I’d have probably carried it for a while like I did Savage Dragon and Spawn. However, Pitt came out around the time I was dropping those two titles and abandoning Image entirely, so it needed to be great just to get by. I did continue to flip through the book when it passed through my shops after I started working them instead of them working me. By the time it was cancelled at Image and moved to Full Bleed, it looked like Keown had gotten bold with the black comedy and brutally violent left turns, but I refused to give it serious consideration as it came out once or twice a year. Did Keown ever finish the story? Did it ever get collected? Shouldn’t there be an audience clammering for prestige treatment today if the story merited it?

    What I heard was that Keown made so much money off the first issue of Pitt, he built his own recording studio and wasted all his drawing time playing guitar with his band. Less reliably and more anecdotally, I also heard that he took up some other expensive ’80s style indulgences. He was an awesome artist who still gets by doing covers, but failed to produce enough comic books to assure any real legacy in the medium beyond that notable Hulk run.

    Like

  3. You mention that Pitt is shown grinning maniacally… as if there was any other way to grin in the ’90s.

    Liked the mouth-breather joke. Loved the shots game.

    I can’t believe you missed the obvious conclusion that Dale Keown watched the first ten minutes of TERMINATOR 2: JUDGEMENT DAY and ran out of the theater to draw his own version Demo-Hulk.

    Verdicts well-rendered. Another great episode!

    Like

Leave a Reply

